Bread Success!


I feel like this really deserves a blog post.

I have now successfully baked bread-twice! Booyah.

This is a big deal because I am a horrible (h o r r i b l e) cook. <—-Yep, seriously.

I have decided to go GF for a while for health reasons. At first, this was a very intimidating decision because I was afraid of having to tell people and getting the “WHYYYYY?” Ya-da, ya-da. But I had a little talk with myself and decided who the hell cares what other people think to get over it and do what is best for me. And right now, not eating gluten is just that.

With that being said, going GF has so far been such a positive experience for me! I’ve learned (am learning) to like cooking and spending time in the kitchen. I am also learning to really listen to my body and treat it better. And that itself feels awesome!

So with all of that being vented said, here is the recipe I use. (Thank you maria!)

Maria’s GF Bread

1/2 cup coconut flour
1/4 tsp Celtic sea salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
6 eggs
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted OR unsweetened almond milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium-sized bowl sift together the dry ingredients. Slowly add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until very smooth. Grease a small bread pan and fill about 2/3 of the way full with batter. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Makes 12 servings.

NUTRITIONAL COMPARISON (per serving)
Traditional Bread = 82 calories, 1g fat, 1g protein, 21g carbs, trace fiber (21 effective carbs)
“Healthified” Bread (almond milk) = 54 calories, 2.8g fat, 3.5g protein, 2.9g carbs, 1.7g fiber (1.2 effective carbs)

Ta-da!

This is realllllll good with some almond butter on it. Or just plain.

Watch out Martha Stewart.

One thought on “Bread Success!

Share some love

