Pay it forward <Giveaway>


Hi bloggie friends Smile

I have been meaning to do this post but keep putting it off. So I’m finally doing it and adding in a giveaway! This is my first giveaway in fact ….big moment for the blog Winking smile!

Here’s the story: I am “paying it forward”. I’m so moved by this book that I wish I could buy a copy for everyone in the world. No joke. But since I am cannot afford that, I am giving away a copy of this book.Yay!

REALLY long story short-I’ve been pretty lost for the past year and a half. If you are my mother, sister, Michael, or one of my best friends you know this. One of the most used phrases of mine is, “I Just feel so lost!”. True story.

But friends, this story has a happy ending! I am found. Not all the way but getting closer.

Let me share- My last year of college was, well to put it mildly, really lame. I was unhappy, worried all the time and not enjoying my last year of college by doing things like going out and getting crunk. I really do regret this now. Instead, I stayed in, pulled countless all-nighters, worried about projects, grades and let this completely consume my life. I was miserable. Then, I graduated and found out I still was still “lost”. What gives! My worries turned from projects to finding the perfect job. Basically, I was a mess.

Then, I re-found my faith. And this book.

My sister gave me this book as a present. She knew everything that I had been going through as she was on my speed dial during all breakdowns Smile.

I guess she knew I needed this book in my life. As soon as I opened it, I had my little ah-ha “moment”.

Remember when I choose a word for the year? I choose faith. I have to admit that I truly lost my faith during college. I wasn’t surrounded by people who had the same beliefs as me and honestly, I became to busy to have “time” for god. I never knew how lost I really was without my faith until I realized I was living without it.

My “ah-ha” moment went like this: I opened this book, and turned to this page. Here’s what I read,

worry

Simple. To the point. And it spoke to me. I thought, “What if I just stopped worrying?” What if I just let my life take its course and embrace it as is?

And that’s basically when things just started making sense and “signs” started popping up all over. I read these posts and again, felt like I was meant to read them. Much like this book!

Fight Fear with Fear

The Blogger Picture

Peace

Blah Blah Blah- I could go on forever.

I’m not saying I found my dream job or that I am exactly where I want to be forever. And no I’m not going to go around being the happiest person in the world, praising god in the streets every single day. But yes, I’ve learned to let go and let god. Right now, I am right where I’m supposed to be. Everyone who is in my life is here for a reason. And I’m incredibly blessed.

I am doing this giveaway because if I can inspire or help one person, like this book did for me, then my goal is accomplished! You guys know my love for books (nerd, I know). So I thought, what better than to share this book as a giveaway?! Plus, I’m including this journal because I really believe in the power of writing. And it’s filled with happy quotes! What could be better?! Candy? I know, I think so too.

Okay my brain hurts. I wish I could grab a coffee with all of you and go more in depth but this will do for now. Even if you aren’t religious, you will get A LOT from this book. It really is that amazing!

Here’s the Giveaway rules:

1.) Share a comment if you have ever been lost, found, etc. Just give me some good, inspiring life stories people! Your favorite quote will also work.

2.) Blog about this and connect back the link

3.)Tweet tweet tweet away!

4.) Or just go buy this book and fall in love with it like I did. Then, of course, tell me about it

I’ll announce the winner on April 24th- Easter! This package most likely will include a crap load of candy in celebration of lent being over!

Enjoy your Saturday! It’s supposed to be 70 (!!!) here today! As soon as work is over, I am bringing out the bikini and laying out!

Winking smile

36 thoughts on “Pay it forward <Giveaway>

  1. I am also doing the whole stressing over finding a perfect job, just wrecked my car, broke up with my boyfriend {{it just wasn’t working}} and so it feels like everything is going WRONG. I have had to sit back and just find the little things that inspire me everyday. Like my fluffy golden retriever puppy or the fact that it is sunny outside. Just gotta keep it simple these next few weeks, and of course go out and get crunk as much as possible. 🙂 My favorite quote as of now is “it takes courage to grow up and be who you really are.” ee cummings.

  2. O-M-G, we may be the same person.
    My freshman-sophomore years of college were…to say the least not the best years of my life and my former volleyball coach, who I am really close to, gave me the book, It’s Not About Me, by Max Lucado!! Changed my life, I loved it!!!
    I am definately going to read this one! =)!!

    luv ya girl, have a great weekend!

    p.s. this week has turned out to be amazing =)

  3. Wow. I am reading this blog today with tears streaming down my face. I know God answers prayers. Always remember my life quote “with God all things are possible” Love you more than you know baby girl. Momma

  4. I spent a lot time freaking out about my future – what I was going to do, what was going to work, what wasn’t working, what I wanted, what I needed, etc.

    Then I realized that – while not perfect – my current standing in life was pretty awesome. I had not real reason to complain, so I stopped. Okay, I still complain, but it is about little issues, not the big picture. I realized who I was and in doing that I realized what I wanted to slowly evolve into (that is still a process)…life is about today, not next week, not next year, just today!

  5. Thank you for the shout out (for me and for Michelle- since it was her post!). I think I need to read that book! You pretty much just described my senior year…I worry waayy too much, and have trouble letting things go. I don’t want to regret it one day!

  6. i hope this isnt too vulgar! its my fav quote

    “Trust is like a mirror, you can fix it if it’s broken, but you can still see the crack in that mother fucker’s reflection.”
    — Lady Gaga

    is so true—-98% of the time the person that distrusts you will most likely do it again….i believe in second chances but its hard to regain that trust…especially if someone truly hurts you!

    lovelovelove the blog!!!

  7. Thank you so much for commenting on my blog! I absolutely LOVE reading inspirational books – there’s a list on my blog of my favorites. And it look like from your own Bookshelf that we have a very similar reading tastes.

    One of my favorites quotes… “Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” – Maria Robinson

    I’d really love to check out this book for myself! Sounds wonderful!

  8. wow girl great post! I def would love some more inspiration in my life and reading books like these are so important- I’m tending also to be “lost” when looking for a job/internship at this point with Grad school..I’m trying to stay calm/focused but it seems difficult. Hopefully this book can help me 🙂

  9. hi there!!:) thanks for the love!
    i’ve had moments like you did when i was “lost” myself. have you ever read any of mitch albom’s books? the five people you meet in heaven (BEST ONE EVER), tuesdays with morrie, and for one more day. he has others and i need to get my hands on them. so do you.
    also, hallmark makes those cute little pick-me-up books that you read in a sitting: 50 things that really matter is an adorable one
    i’m so glad you’ve gotten yourself to a better place! i was lost for years and i feel like i’m going to blossom again come august. it’s a great feeling:)

  10. Hey girl thx so much for the blog comment! Love your blog, you are so adorable! 🙂
    Most inspriring story for me comes during the passing of my gma. She was a Christian and I wasnt (basically no one in my family is) She held on to her faith as she was losing her battle to cancer. I was bitter and angry and couldnt understand why she would be praising a God who was making her suffer. Before she passed she made me promise I would go to church at least once. The last time I saw her she had pretty much succumb to her cancer. She couldnt speak much and didnt recognize most of her family. I told her I loved her, kissed her on the cheek and turned to leave the room. As I was walking away she told me she loved me too. Everyone in the room had shock across their faces. The fact that my gma found the strength to tell me she loved me one more time is the most inspiring thing I have ever experienced.
    Because of her I went to church and found Jesus. I now see His purpose for it all ❤

  11. Aww, Caitlin, I think this is a great giveaway, and I really love what inspired it. I’ve definitely struggled with feeling lost since I graduated from college (and even for a lot of the time I was there)… I’m still trying to figure things out and to really let go and let God like you said. While I’m not there yet, I can feel myself feeling stronger and more comfortable with my life and where I’m going, the more I let go a bit. I’d love to read this book… and will probably buy it if I don’t win 🙂

  12. First post I saw of yours and couldn’t agree more. I am in college now and often find myself 110% lost. NO idea whatsoever of what I want to do post-college. And everyday I look for a ‘sign’ to point me in some direction. I’ll have to check this book out; I could use some rekindling of the faith.

    =D

  13. Lost – we have all been lost at some point in our lives and if you haven’t been then you have not lived long enough. Max Lucado is a great author. I have not read this one and would love to.

  14. This is a thoughtful giveaway 🙂 theres never enough inspiration in one person’s life 🙂

    my favourite quote: Yesterday is history, Tomorrow is a mystery, Today is a gift, That’s why they call it the present! 🙂

    I love this quote because it allows me to forget all the negative things that happened yesterday, in the past and focus on what happens tomorrow and in the future. I believe we have to create our own utopia, our own happy ending and seize everyday 🙂

    loveee this blog 🙂

  15. I just found your blog, and I adore it! Uber fab. I can completely relate to being “lost”. As a college student (nearing the end of it), I often question if I made the “right” decisions for my future. Sometimes I need to just realize the importance of appreciating who I am and how far I have come. I feel like this Oprah Winfrey quotation says it best: “The best of times is now”. 🙂

  16. Love this post. I think everyone must go through a year (or few) of feeling lost. I graduated, moved out of college life, and into an apartment with a job, and I think I spent 5 nights of the week crying, because I didn’t even know who I was and what I supposed to do. I ended up reading two books that I would say changed my life; Passion and Purity by Elisabeth Elliot, and You Gotta Keep Dancing by Tim Hansel. A few weeks ago I was reading the latter book in a park by myself, and it was like God was saying to my heart, “peace, be still.” As kids, we understand that. We could quietly play (or maybe just me) by ourselves with our toys and make up stories and have a grand time. It seems I lost that magical part of, I’m ok just by myself playing my life thank you very much! Somewhere along the way, we forgot to live, and instead took up worries and burdens and dropped that faith we grew up that made us whole and human. When did that happen? Why did I waste so much time trying to live by the worlds standards? (Sorry for the random, blah-blahing) But, I did appreciate this post. It seems I am finally also, getting back to the path which was probably meant for me all along. Too bad I didn’t enjoy the detour. Keep on writing! Check those books out if you have a chance too. I plan to read the Max Lucado one next 🙂

Share some love

